South Africa
  • Gauteng (Johannesburg & Surrounds)
  • KwaZulu-Natal (Durban)
  • Western Cape (Cape Town)
  • Eastern Cape
  • Mpumalanga
  • North West
  • Free State
  • Northern Cape
  • Limpopo
Rest of Africa
  • Nigeria
  • Mozambique
  • Zambia
  • Tanzania
Middle East &
Indian Ocean
  • Seychelles
  • United Arab Emirates

Arabella Hotel, Golf and Spa, Hermanus
Radisson Blu Waterfront
Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Our Board

HPF Directors

Marcel Nikolaus von Aulock
Chairman, non-executive director
Date of appointment: 1 December 2018
Marcel served his articles at PwC and joined Tsogo as Group Financial Manager in 1999. In 2004 he was promoted to Group Strategic Planning Director. In 2009 he was appointed Chief Financial Officer and on 30 September 2011 he assumed the role of Chief Executive Officer of Tsogo. Marcel resigned from Tsogo on 1 June 2017, but re-joined the Group on 1 June 2018, as Chief Executive Officer of Tsogo Sun Hotels, the Group’s hotel division with a portfolio of more than 90 hotels under its management.  Marcel represented Tsogo on the board of Hospitality between 1 September 2016 and 1 June 2017.  Marcel re-joined the Hospitality Board on 1 December 2018.
Committee membership: Nomination; remuneration

Mara Raquel Dos Santos de Lima
Chief Executive Officer
Date of appointment: 30 September 2016
Mara was appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of Hospitality on 1 June 2019, prior to which she served as the Chief Financial Officer. Mara served her articles at KPMG Inc. and joined Southern Sun Hotels Proprietary Limited as Management Accountant in October 2007 and as group Financial Manager of Tsogo Sun Hotels in February 2009. Mara does not hold positions on any other governing body outside of the Hospitality group.
Committee membership: Social and Ethics

Riaan Erasmus
Chief Financial Officer
Date of appointment: 1 June 2019
Riaan was appointed as the Chief Financial Officer of Hospitality on 1 June 2019.  He served his articles at KPMG Inc.  Riaan previously held the position of Group Financial Manager at Hospitality and acting Chief Financial Officer prior to the takeover of Hospitality by Tsogo Sun, where he served until recently as the Group Treasurer managing the debt portfolio for both Tsogo and Hospitality, as well as other treasury related transactions.

Sipho Christopher Gina
Independent non-executive Director
Dip (Labour Law)
Date of appointment: 1 June 2019
Chris resigned as the deputy secretary general of the South African Clothing and Textile Workers’ Union in September 2019. Chris serves on the boards of Tsogo Sun Hotels, Ithala Development Finance Corporation, Star Knitting (Mauritius) and Edafund (‘NPO’). He also serves as a labour convenor for KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Government Economic Council. Chris formed part of the International Labour Organisation to Thailand in 2015, where he presented a South African Labour Law perspective in collective bargaining and trade unions.
Committee membership: Social and Ethics (Chairman); Nomination

Laurelle McDonald
Non-executive director
Date of appointment: 1 September 2016
Laurelle served her articles at Grant Thornton and joined Gold Reef Resorts as an Assistant Financial Manager at Silverstar Casino in 2007. Thereafter, she was appointed as the group Financial Manager and the Company Secretary of Gold Reef Resorts. After the acquisition of Gold Reef Resorts by Tsogo Sun, Laurelle was appointed Corporate Finance and Treasury Manager of Tsogo Sun and later served as a member of Tsogo Sun’s executive committee.  Laurelle is currently the Chief Financial Officer of Tsogo Sun Hotels.
Committee membership: Social and ethics

Lynette Moretla Molefi
Independent non-executive director
Date of appointment: 1 June 2019
Moretlo is a versatile, well-qualified entrepreneur and an experienced business executive. She has been one of a few pioneers of Telemedicine in South Africa and Africa with representation at various levels of government and non-governmental organisations. She has a broad knowledge of mobile health industry and the technology world in general. Moretlo runs her own business and is involved in social entrepreneurship programmes locally and internationally. She has a BSc and a MB ChB degree and serves on a number of boards, including Tsogo Sun Hotels Limited and The International Society for Telemedicine.
Committee membership: Audit and Risk; Nomination

Jabulani Geffrey Ngcobo
Independent non-executive director
Date of appointment: 1 June 2019
Jabu was the regional secretary for Africa of the International Textile Garment and Leather Workers Federation from 1999 to 2006, Prior to this appointment he held the position of general secretary of the Southern African Clothing and Textile Workers Union for 6 years from 1994 to 1999. Jabu was appointed to the board of HCI as a non-executive director in October 2004. He also serves on the board of Tsogo Sun Hotels, Niveus Investments and HCI Coal.
Committee membership: Audit and risk; remuneration

James Robert (Rob) Nicolella
Non-executive director
Date of appointment: 1 September 2016
Rob joined Hosken Consolidated Investments Limited (‘HCI’) in 2011. Rob serves on the boards of subsidiary companies Business Systems Group Africa Proprietary Limited and group associate company Impact Oil and Gas Limited. Prior to joining HCI he was employed by Investec Bank Limited for 17 years, most notably in the capacity as Head of Corporate Banking, Western Cape, and subsequently Head of Private Banking, Western Cape.  Rob served as Hospitality’s CEO from 1 November 2018 to 31 May 2019.

Mohamed Haroun Ahmed
Lead independent non-executive director
BCom (Accounting)
Date of appointment: 14 August 2018
With 25 years of experience in finance and leadership, Mohamed is a businessman who has served on the boards of various listed companies, including as an alternate director for MTN Group Limited. He is currently an independent non-executive director for both Montauk Holdings and Deneb Investments, where he also serves as the Chair of the audit, risk and remuneration committees and is the founder of the Gallagher Charitable Trust. Mohamed was appointed to the Board on 14 August 2018 and became the lead independent non-executive director on 1 June 2019.  Mohamed chairs both the Audit and risk and the Remuneration Committees.
Committee membership: Audit and risk; remuneration

Cornelia Carol September
Independent non-executive director
Masters Technology Management, PGDip (Economics Policy)
Date of appointment: 15 August 2019
Connie served as chair of the Portfolio Committee on Higher Education and Training in the Fifth Parliament. She previously served as Minister of Human Settlements. Connie first became a Member of Parliament in 1999 and served in various Portfolio Committees including as chair of the Portfolio Committee on Water Affairs & Forestry. She also served as Whip in the National Assembly in 2004. She obtained a Master’s degree in Technology Management from Da Vinci Institute for Technology Management. Connie retired from Parliament in May 2019. She also serves on the Board of Tsogo Sun Hotels Limited.